Tuesday, 16 June 2009

Springbok squad selected for first rugby Test vs the Lions

Springbok emblemSouth African coach, Peter de Villiers, named the 22-member Springbok squad today who will face the British & Irish Lions on Saturday, 20 June in Durban.

Francois Steyn replaces the incumbent (but injured) Conrad Jantjes at fullback; Adi Jacobs is in at 13 ahead of Jaque Fourie (I would have picked J Fourie to start); Ruan Pienaar recovered from injury to retain the flyhalf berth ahead of Morné Steyn who had a great Super 14 season and the fetcher, Heinrich Brüssow, who had a great game for the Cheetahs against the Lions earlier this month, comes in for Schalk Burger who couldn't recover from injury in time.

Here's the full Springbok squad (Test caps in brackets):

15. Frans Steyn (27)
14. JP Pietersen (24)
13. Adi Jacobs (21)
12. Jean de Villiers (46)
11. Bryan Habana (46)
10. Ruan Pienaar (27)
9. Fourie du Preez (43)
8. Pierre Spies (19)
7. Juan Smith (54)
6. Heinrich Brüssow (1)
5. Victor Matfield (80)
4. Bakkies Botha (55)
3. John Smit (81) – Captain
2. Bismarck du Plessis (21)
1. Tendai Mtawarira (10)


16. Gurthrö Steenkamp (20)
17. Deon Carstens (7)
18. Andries Bekker (13)
19. Danie Rossouw (36)
20. Ricky Januarie (34)
21. Jaque Fourie (42)
22. Morné Steyn (uncapped)


Post a Comment

Feel free to leave a Comment!
Please do not post as 'Anonymous'. If you're not registered, rather use the 'Name/URL' option instead.

Name (or nickname) and location is preferred. It simply makes it easier to respond to individual comments. Thanks. :)

Back to top