Monday, 8 February 2010

Springbok contracts revealed

Springbok emblem
The Springbok rugby players who signed contracts with SA Rugby have been announced. This group will probably form the nucleus of the squad who will defend South Africa's title at the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

Contracted Springboks

2-year contracts: John Smit (hooker), Bakkies Botha (lock), Victor Matfield (lock), Schalk Burger (loose forward), Juan Smith (loose forward), Pierre Spies (loose forward), Fourie du Preez (scrumhalf), Bryan Habana (wing), Jaque Fourie (centre), JP Pietersen (wing).

1-year contracts: Tendai Mtawarira (prop), Bismarck du Plessis (hooker), Andries Bekker (lock), Heinrich Brüssow (loose forward), Danie Rossouw (lock/loose forward), Ruan Pienaar (scrumhalf/utility), Morné Steyn (flyhalf), Wynand Olivier (centre), Adrian Jacobs (centre), Chiliboy Ralepelle (hooker) subject to a fitness test.

Overseas-based players

SA Rugby has a policy of not offering contracts to Springboks playing for clubs abroad but the following players could still feature in coach Peter de Villiers's plans for the 2011 RWC: Jean de Villiers (centre), CJ van der Linde (prop), BJ Botha (prop) and Frans Steyn (fullback).


Post a Comment

Feel free to leave a Comment!
Please do not post as 'Anonymous'. If you're not registered, rather use the 'Name/URL' option instead.

Name (or nickname) and location is preferred. It simply makes it easier to respond to individual comments. Thanks. :)

Back to top